The Lineage of Creative Directors at the Fashion House Dior

June 19, 2023 in Fashion & Style by Julian Everett

Creative Directors at the Fashion House Dior

1946-1957: Christian Dior

The founder of the fashion house, Dior redefined women's fashion post-World War II with his revolutionary "New Look."

1957-1960: Yves Saint Laurent

At only 21, Saint Laurent took the helm following Dior's death. He went on to become a legendary designer in his own right.

1960-1989: Marc Bohan

Bohan introduced a more conservative and ladylike aesthetic that won favor with clientele worldwide.

1989-1996: Gianfranco Ferré

The first non-French creative director of Dior, Ferré was known for his innovative shapes and silhouettes.

1996-2011: John Galliano

Known for his extravagant designs and dramatic runway shows, Galliano pushed the boundaries of fashion at Dior.

2011-2012: Bill Gaytten

Gaytten briefly took over after Galliano's dismissal, maintaining a continuity in the brand's aesthetic.

2012-2015: Raf Simons

Simons brought a minimalist aesthetic to the fashion house, reinterpreting Dior's heritage for the modern woman.

2015-2016: Lucie Meier and Serge Ruffieux

This interim team guided the house between the tenures of Simons and the current director.

2016-Present: Maria Grazia Chiuri

The first woman to lead Dior, Chiuri infuses the brand with feminist themes and focuses on making high fashion accessible to a younger audience.

More articles from Fashion & Style